Foreign teams get set for world cricket event, Uganda faces Canada tomorrow

Three national teams from Canada, Oman and Singapore have arrived ahead of the 2017 International Cricket Board (ICC) World Cricket League Division 3.

The Canada and Oman teams jetted in on Saturday, while Singapore arrived on Sunday. Six nations will take part in the Championship which runs May 23-30. The best two teams will qualify for slots in Division 2 and also make it to the next round of the 2019 World Cup qualifiers.

The qualifier for the World Cup will be contested after the conclusion of Division II and will determine which two teams will go to England and Wales in 2019.

“We are on track with our preparations and determined to pull off a successful event. Our volunteers are working to ensure the tournament is an overwhelming success,” Tournament Director Justine Ligyalingi, who is the UCA CEO, chipped in about the progress of the preparations.

“We are happy to be here and we shall definitely play every game like a final,” Canada’s Nitish Kumar told URN at Africana Hotel .

Canada who have been warming up with games in Zimbabwe have two Caribbean Premier League T20 players in its ranks in Hamza Tariq and Nikhil Dutta. Oman have also impressed throughout the qualification process starting in Division 5 and spectacularly climbing the ladder.

During that time Oman has also performed well in the ICC World Twenty20 qualification process and remarkably remain in contention to qualify for both ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and ICC World Twenty20

The six teams will have practice on Monday before the opening games on May 23rd with Uganda facing Canada at the Lugogo Oval, while Malaysia take on Singapore at the Kyambogo Oval and USA battle Oman at the Entebbe Oval.