MPs vote to maintain mobile money tax

By Alice Lubwama
One hundred thirty six members of Parliament have voted in favor of the mobile money tax this afternoon. 237  managed to vote . There was misconduct by  MPS when Speaker of parliament announced commencement of voting. The first results were nullified leading to roll calling.
Discontent  members of these results like Honorable Paulsen Luttamaguzi says that the NRM legislators  were given a 15 million bribe to allow the bill to be passed.
The NRM caucus held a meeting on Monday and asked its members to shun the minority report vote which advocates for the scrapping of the mobile money tax. MPs such as Fred Baseke of Ntenjeru South, Pamela Kamugo, the Budaka Woman MP, Geoffrey Macho of Busia municipality and Walyomu insist they will not support their party position.

Parliament last Thursday  suspended the debate citing lack of quorum after majority of the MPs in the House supported the minority report signed by MPs Patrick Isiagi Kachumbala county , Moses Walyomu Kagoma county and Paulsen Luttamaguzi (Nakaseke South).

Government reduced the tax to   0.5% from  1% following a public outcry, mainly the mobile money dealers that the tax had affected their business , they also threatened to close shops if government does not amend the law.