Parliament to vet new members of cabinet today

The vetting exercise for newly appointed members of cabinet starts today as the Appointment Committee of parliament reviews credentials of 17 out of the 81 cabinet nominees.

The committee chaired by Speaker of Parliament will sit for three days to complete the process.

According to a vetting schedule issued by the Clerk to Parliament Jane Kibirige, each minister will interface with the committee for at least 20 minutes.

The ministers to be vetted today include Gen Moses Ali (1st Deputy premier), Kirunda Kivejinja (2nd Deputy Premier), Janet Kataaha Museveni (Education), Muruli Mukasa (Public Service), Amelia Kyambadde (Trade, Industry and Cooperatives),  Jeje Odongo (Internal Affairs), Vincent Ssempijja Bamulangaki (Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries).

The others are Mathias Kasaija (Finance), Sam Kutesa (Foreign Affairs), Dr. Aceng Jane (Health), Eng. Monica Ntege Azuba (Works and Transport), Sam Cheptoris (Water and Environment), William Byaruhanga (Attorney General), Frank Tumwebaze (Information, ICT and Communication), Ruth Nankabirwa Sentamu (Government Chief Whip), D’Ujanga Simon (State for Energy) and David Bahati (State for Planning).

The meeting of the Appointments Committee will be preceded by the Approval of the Prime Minister by the whole house this morning.  Dr Ruhakana Rugunda was reappointed to the post in a cabinet named last week by President Yoweri Museveni.

Parliament’s Principal Information Officer Moses Bwalatum says that upon his approval, the Prime Minister will lead debate on a motion seeking parliament’s approval for the increase in the number of ministers.

The motion is expected to be tabled by Kiboga Woman MP, Ruth Nankabirwa-the government Chief Whip-designate.

This’ after a National Resistance Movement (NRM) parliamentary caucus sitting on Friday passed a resolution, giving the president retrospective authority to increase the number of ministers. During the meeting, president Museveni requested the MPs to allow him expand the size of cabinet from the 81 ministers appointed last week to 88 ministers.

The President said that this is intended to restructure large ministries and departments to make them efficient and accelerate service delivery in the country.