Kawanga named new commissioner for Masaka district

By Sania Babirye

Opposition Democratic Party member John Baptist Kawanga has been named new Masaka District service commissioner by the council.

Kawanga who is also a former member of Parliament for Masaka municipality has been appointed by the Masaka District Executive committee.

According to Jude Mbabali the Masaka LC5 chairman Masaka district, he proposed Kawanga’s name as a person fit for the said job after consultation with various stakeholders to the district executive committee.

The District executive committee then unanimously recommended him to the district council which approved him.

Mbabali says he trusts that Kawanga will do his work with due diligent due to his good track record.

City Oilers bag the Championship trophy for the forth time

Defending champions City Oilers on Sunday night humbled Betway Power 78-46 in the game five finals of the National basketball league.

The Oilers who had already scored 3-1 in the best of seven finals series needed only a win to emerge champions of the finals.

Oilers largely dominated the games as they led the entire three quarters out-competing Power with a huge margin by the final whistle. A bad start for the Power side saw the first quarter end 24-10 while the second quarter ended 38-22.

In the third quarter, Oilers maintained the lead as they edged power 65-40. In the last quarter the Oilers took advantage of the exhausted Power defence to make over four pointers that sent City Oilers fans in jubilation.

Jimmy Enabu and Jonah Otim each made 15 points for the Oilers while Michael Kojo and Captain Joseph Ikong made 13 points each for the Power side.

Oilers Coach Monday Juruni said they deserved the win although power put up a good fight. He says as Oilers they look at each team as an opponent to reckon with, and the win is highly attributed to team work, motivation and discipline.

Powers Joseph Ikong described the game as the greatest loss they have registered. He said many of their turnovers cost them the poor game.

Oilers are now champions of the National Basketball League for the fourth time after wins in 2013, 2014 and 2015.