Tobacco:Only 6 companies have been licensed

By Wasswa Deo

Six (6) Tobacco companies have been licensed by the Ministry of Trade to begin operations for the 2017 Crop Season in the country.

Major objectives of these licensed companies including, sponsoring tobacco farmers in their areas of operations and promote use of certified Tobacco seeds.

While handing over the contracts to these companies, Ambassador Oneni Julius, the permanent secretary at the ministry of trade has noted that, licensing these companies is a move to alienate quack companies that have been fleecing and cheating tobacco farmers.

The licensed companies includes, Alliance one Tobacco, Leaf tobacco and commodities, Uganda Tobacco service limited, Nimatabac  Limited, and Continental  Tobacco limited.

Photo: The Financial Gazette